Winner Winner, Chicken Dinner!

Yadira Medina

On Friday March 22nd, a group of Phoenix Journalism students attended the Scholastic Press Association of Chicago conference at Roosevelt University. The press association recognized young writers for their work ethic and great articles. Ten schools attended this meeting in hope of winning awards for their school.

Fortunately this was the case for our school. The Phoenix Chronicle won 5 awards!

The awards are the following:

Senior Alex Valle won an Excellent Achievement for an Entertainment Review about a Spider-Man movie.

Senior Carlos Renteria won an Excellent Achievement for an Opinion Review/Column about the Gillette Commercial.

Junior Damien Ponce won an Excellent Achievement Award for a Sports Feature Story he wrote about Jalyne Goree wrestling.

Senior Bisali Pinto won an Excellent Achievement Award for a Sports News Story she wrote about football going to state.

The staff won an Excellent Achievement Award for Overall Web Design for the Phoenix Chronicle.

For one of the winners this award was a big surprise due to the time constraint she was in when having to write the article. Senior Bisali Pinto was astounded that she won the award.

I was really surprised to win the award because I had wrote the article in one day,” said Pinto.

Pinto still feels proud to have won the award even if the article was supposed to be written in such short notice.

“I felt honored that I won the award,” said Pinto.

For another winner his experience can be described as the same. Senior Alexander Valle recalls his win as a complete surprise.

“I was startled once I was informed that I had won the award for my review of  Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse,” said Valle.

For Valle his simple love of Marvel movies got him this award, writing an honest review about the movie as a whole.

The Phoenix team works really hard to post, write and interview people for articles. This is just small recognition for the amount of work it takes to run a student news website. Congratulations to the winners!